Update your Kiosk Settings and Manage your Sites and Areas

Table of Contents
Print

How sites, areas and kiosks work together

When using a VisiPoint cloud license, your kiosks will always be assigned to a site and an area within that site.

This allows you to edit kiosk settings (e.g. brightness, schedule reboot, date format etc) at kiosk level, at area or nested area level, or at the site level. This means you can apply settings to kiosks individually or in bulk at once.

You also control the user journey (the steps users go through during the sign-in process on your kiosks) at the area level or nested area level. This means you can apply user journeys to kiosks in bulk at once. Alternatively, if you want to apply user journeys to individual kiosks, you can create an area/nested area for each kiosk.

  • Site = You can control the kiosk settings for all devices assigned to a Site. For example, Newcastle Office.
  • Area = You can apply your user journey and also control kiosk settings for all devices assigned to an area. For example, Main Reception.
  • Nested Area = You can apply your user journey and also control kiosk settings for all devices assigned to an area. For example, Door 1.

Using the sites grid

To update your Kiosk settings from the VisiPoint dashboard, we should go to Sites & Kiosks from the left navigation panel.

You will be presented with a grid of your sites.

If you haven’t edited any of your settings yet, your kiosk will be assigned to Default Site and Default Area.

On the right-hand side of your grid, you will see a Site Actions button next to each of your sites in the grid. If you click on this button a drop-down menu will appear with 3 options.

  1. Site Kiosk Settings = You can set all settings across all of your devices in your site to the same settings by editing them here.
  2. Edit Site = Here you can edit the site name, time zone, and reception email for site email notifications.
  3. Delete Site = You can delete a site by clicking this option. Be careful with this. Please ensure you have migrated all assosiated areas, users & kiosks first!

Add a new site

To add a new site, click on the Add Site button on the top right. It will display this pop-up window. Please add site name, reception email for site email notifications and select your time zone from the list.

Using the areas grid

Click on the site name to view all areas within the site.

In the Areas grid, you will see area names, the kiosks assigned to an area, the user journey assigned to the area and more details in each kiosk such as offline/online sync status.

Area settings

On the right-hand side of the grid, next to each area you will find Area Actions. If you click on this button you will find a drop-down menu.

Area Kiosk Settings:

The kiosk settings page is used to control kiosk settings such as brightness, schedule reboot, date format etc.

When you click on Area Kiosk Settings you will first see a warning that editing kiosk settings here will override any settings already in place, such as at individual kiosk level.

If you click Continue, the kiosk settings page will appear. You can edit your settings and then click the Update button.

Edit Area:

By clicking on Edit Area you can edit the name and description of an area. This is also where you will apply your user journey.

Move Area:

By clicking on Move Area, a pop-up window will appear which allows you to move your area to a different site.

Delete Area:

You can click on Delete area to remove an area. Be careful with this. Please ensure you have migrated all nested areas, users & kiosks first!

Kiosk settings

Beside the name of each kiosk, there is a drop-down list on the right that will show available actions for each kiosk.

Kiosk settings:

The kiosk settings page is used to control kiosk settings such as brightness, schedule reboot, date format etc. When you click on Edit Kiosk NAME Settings the pop-up window below will appear. Once you have finished selecting your options, please click Update.

Move kiosk:

This feature allows you to move the kiosk across different sites and areas from the drop-down menu that will display once you click on it. Once you have selected your options, click on the Move button.

De-register:

To delete all stored data and unlink the kiosk from your dashboard, click on the De-register option. You will be presented with a pop-up message to confirm you want to do this.

Previous Create and Edit User Types
Next Using the Privacy Manager to Control Data Retention from the Dashboard