Create and Edit User Types

Table of Contents
Print

About user types

User Type is the defining field that groups users together in the system. It categorizes users based on a user group. The 3 default user types are:

  • Walk-in = New visitors that are not recognised as having a profile in the system
  • Visitor = Visitors that are known already as they have a visitor user profile
  • Staff = Employees

If you have a Professional or Enterprise level cloud license, you can create custom user types. These are bespoke to your needs. You have the top-level user types, known as your parent user types. You also have the ability to create child user types, which are nested within a parent user type.

For example, you could add a user type for Contractors or Volunteers. These would be parent user types. Or you could separate your staff using child user types, with one user type for Office Staff and one user type for Warehouse Staff, both nested within the parent user type of Staff.

Accessing user types

Click on the dropdown arrow next to User Settings from the left navigation and click on User Types.

You will then see the User Types grid, shown below.

If you have any child user types created, you will see a dropdown arrow on the left of a user type. You can click this arrow to show the child user types.

Edit user type

Click on Available Actions next to a user type and select edit.

The pop-up window above will appear. You can edit the name of the user type and then click the Update button.

Delete user type

You will only be able to delete user types that you have created as custom user types. You cannot delete the default user types. You don’t have to use them if you have created your own, but it will not give you the option to delete them.

To delete a user type, click on Available Actions next to the user type and select Delete.

You will also not be able to delete a user type if there are users with this user type assigned. You would need to change the user type for these users and then come back to this page to delete the user type.

Add a new user type

To create a new user type, click on the Create User Type button on the top right.

Then click on New User Type button.

Add the name and click the Submit button.

Once added a success message will display and you will be taken back to the user type list where you will see your new user type. This user type will now be available in the journey builder to add to a flow/ create a new flow.

Create a child user type

To create a child user type, click on the New User Type button on the top right.

Then click on one of the current user types from the list that you want to be the parent.

The following box will appear which confirms which user type is the parent and asks you to add the name of the new child user type. In this example, Staff is the parent user type – as you can tell because Staff is highlighted in blue on list and ‘Staff As Parent User Type’ appears in the box.

Once done click on submit and the new child user type will be added with a success message as below.

Moving child user types

You can move child user types so they move under a different parent user type.

You can access your child user types from the user types page by clicking on the drop-down arrow next to a parent user type. You will then see the child user types displayed with a checkbox on the left of each child user type.

Click on Available Actions next to a child user type and it will display a drop-down menu. Click on move. Alternatively, if you want to select multiple at once, you can click on the checkboxes on the left and a new blue button called Available for selections will appear on the top right of the grid. You can click on this to select Move.

This will show a pop-up window where you can choose a new parent user type and click the Confirm button.

For example, you can see below that we have moved Library Staff child user type over to Visitor parent, instead of Staff parent.

Previous Access Scan History and Export Logs Remotely using Reports
Next Update your Kiosk Settings and Manage your Sites and Areas